Dortmund’s scored penalty ruled out after delayed VAR check

Borussia Dortmund midfielder Marcel Sabitzer was denied a hat trick on Saturday when his penalty kick against Borussia Monchengladbach was cancelled by the video assistant referee (VAR) after he had scored from it.

Referee Florian Badstübner awarded Dortmund the spot kick in the 50th minute of the game with the team leading 2-1, with Sabitzer stepping up to coolly finish his second penalty of the game and third goal of the match.

Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)

However, as Sabitzer began to celebrate, Badstübner immediately made the VAR signal and ran to the pitchside monitor to check the decision, swiftly deciding to rule out the penalty and subsequent goal.

The penalty was originally awarded for a trip by Gladbach goalkeeper Jonas Omlin on Dortmund’s Karim Adeyemi, but the referee adjudged that Omlin touched the ball before taking out Adeyemi.

Confusion reigned at Gladbach’s Borussia Park, with Dortmund manager Edin Terzić looking particularly perplexed in conversation with the fourth official after the incident.

His team held on to win the game 2-1, despite playing the final 35 minutes with 10 men after Adeyemi’s second-half red card.