Ochoa, Jiménez, ‘Chucky’ left off Mexico’s Copa America squad

High-profile veteran players Guillermo Ochoa, Hirving “Chucky” Lozano, Raúl Jiménez and Henry Martín have been left out of Mexico‘s 31-man preliminary roster for this summer’s Copa América.

With an eye towards the 2026 World Cup, the squad list includes a total of 10 players that are 23 or younger, signifying a generational change for the national team.

Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)

“Here you see many new faces, here you see many young people,” head coach Jaime “Jimmy” Lozano told a news conference on Friday.

Mexico Sporting Director Duilio Davino said the team’s performance at Copa América won’t impact Lozano’s project for 2026.

“I’m going to say it in a clear, strong manner, and I hope not to repeat it. Jaime Lozano is the coach we trust to lead us at the World Cup,” Davino said. “This project does not end after Copa América.”

Before the tournment, Mexico will played in U.S.-based friendlies against Bolívia (May 31 at Soldier Field in Chicago), Uruguay (June 5 at Empower Field at Mile High in Denver) and Brazil (June 8 at Texas A&M in College Station, Texas).

Copa América, which will also be hosted in the U.S., is scheduled to begin on June 20.

Mexico will play in Group B where it will face Jamaica (June 22 at NRG Stadium in Houston), Venezuela (June 26 at SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles), and Ecuador (June 30 at State Farm Stadium in Phoenix).

Mexico’s 31-man preliminary roster for the Copa America

Goalkeepers: Angel Malagon (Club America), Raul Rangel (Chivas), Julio Gonzalez (Pumas)

Defenders: Israel Reyes (Club America), Jorge Sanchez (Porto), Brian Garcia (Toluca), Cesar Montes (Almeria), Victor Guzman (Monterrey) Alexis Peña (Necaxa), Johan Vasquez (Genoa), Jesus Orozco (Chivas), Gerardo Arteaga (Monterrey), Bryan Gonzalez (Pachuca)

Midfielders: Edson Alvarez (West Ham), Luis Romo (Monterrey), Jordan Carrillo (Santos), Erick Sanchez (Pachuca), Orbelin Pineda (AEK Athens), Roberto Alvarado (Chivas), Luis Chavez (Dynamo Moscow), Andres Montaño (Mazatlan), Fernando Beltran (Chivas), Carlos Rodriguez (Cruz Azul)

Forwards: Marcelo Flores (Tigres), Cesar Huerta (Pumas), Julian Quiñones (Club America), Santiago Gimenez (Feyenoord), Alexis Vega (Toluca), Uriel Antuna (Cruz Azul), Guillermo Martinez (Pumas), Diego Lainez (Tigres).